top of page
Search

Self Sustainability Through a Vegan Garden

Greetings, and happy Monday! I want to talk about how veganism or even plant based eating is a way of self sustainability.


Being vegan goes beyond what you eat, but how you eat. Being self sufficient can be a great skill to have that can save you and the planet.


When I was in middle school or potentially early highschool days, in class, we watched a video about farming. There was a small backyard duck farmer and he showed how to slaughter a duck right in front of his 5 year old daughter who had named the duck!


I know that 100% I would not be able to do that. Both slaughtering a living being as well as showing my 5 year old daughter.


Because of that, I like to say…


“If I wouldn’t be able to kill this living being then I can’t eat it.”


It really is that simple in my mind. Especially when I have the advantage of being surrounded by grocery stores that offer easy, affordable, healthy alternatives to meat and meat products.


Part of the sustainability aspect of the vegan diet is that growing vegetables consumes significantly less water and other resources than raising animals, as well as requiring significantly less land area.


As deforestation continues to rise due to the demand for more land to raise animals and grow crops to feed those animals, and the entire world is experiencing the effects of the destruction of the natural environment, it should become more apparent to the population that growing your own produce, skipping on the animal farming, really is the way to go.


I am of the opinion that overpopulation is a myth because we have innovative technologies and knowledge of how to most efficiently grow produce, enough to feed the whole world with the land areas we already use for farming purposes.


If all land mass that is dedicated to raising animals and growing food for them, we would have more than enough space to grow enough food to feed the world sustainably. This is my sustainability concept explained.


I want to go through the significance of growing your own food, foraging for herbs made easy through property renaturalization, the space effectiveness of growing your own food, reiterate animal welfare situations, how happy it will make your grocery bill, and lastly how your long term health and relationship with food will be significantly improved.


Growing your own food

Growing your own food is more simple than most people think, it doesn't require big fancy machines, or expensive dirt, or pre-sewed seedlings.


Having gardens that produce enough food for your family and maybe your friends and neighbours too requires minimal space, the dirt in the ground (unless you live on a rock), simple drip tape or a $5 sprinkler, and maybe some raised beds if you feel ambitious but they really aren’t necessary if they aren’t possible and you want your whole backyard to be your garden.


Buying seeds online can be overwhelming, seeing the different varieties of tomatoes or lettuce that you’ve never heard of, or not knowing how many you need to buy. It will take some time to know, some trial and error, but the worst case is that you produce more than anticipated.


There is really no such thing as extra, because there are ways that you can store them so they can be a taste of summer in the dark days of winter.


Growing your own food comes down to how much time and effort you are willing to put towards your and your families health.


When you become overwhelmed with the planning of the garden and ordering seeds and knowing how and when to plant and water and sunlight and dirt requirements, just relax, breath, and make a spreadsheet to get organized. The more organized you are the better the outcome will be for you and your garden.


That is my mantra for many things when I feel overwhelmed by tasks, breath, make tea, then make a spreadsheet or mind map and organize my thoughts to make a clear plan.


Herbs

When it comes to herbs, many herbs are actually weeds! Which is a great thing to know if you love the smell of them but aren’t sure about which ones you want to grow.


Since many herbs like rosemary and mint that grow like weeds, you can plant them throughout your property and you will never again be herbless, of course during your growing season.


Though, in the winter, you can cut off a segment of the herb and bring it inside, they easily re-propagate when planted.


Another cool thing about herbs is that, you can use the fresh herbs in the produce section in grocery stores and propagate them, which may or may not be cheaper than buying seed, but it sure is easier and presents guaranteed herbs.


If you are wanting to naturalize your property more, adding herbs as ground cover can be a delicious smelling route to a greener property, just make sure that you choose herbs that are native so we don’t start non-native invasive plants growing everywhere.


Herbs attract some species and deter others, you may see an increase in deer on your property, or a decrease in raccoons, it’s hard to say exactly as it depends who is already coming around.


Herbs are fabulous additions to all food, but especially adding extra flavour profiles to vegan foods. For example veggie herb salads, herbed up pizza, or even herb infused oils.


Herbs have significance beyond their amazing flavours, they are also extremely beneficial for different aspects of your health. For example, sage is a natural expectorant and can soothe a sore throat, as well as having high vitamin C content which aids in immune system function, and lastly, it is a natural teeth whitener! Just chew on a leaf or two for a few minutes every day and voila, whiter teeth on the way and no fluoride to calcify your pineal gland.


Using sage leaves and coconut oil pulling together, will keep your mouth clean and fresh.


Consider incorporating more herbs for a more cost effective way in keeping you healthy through planting and growing on your property.


Space effective

When you are aware that all you need is 1 bucket, a few glasses, and some pots and bam, you can grow half your food is not only insane, but its the truth.


Grow your own potatoes in the bucket, grow herbs in glasses, through some tomatoes, peppers, zucchini, and lettuce in some pots, maybe even open yourself up to growing mushrooms in a plastic bag in your kitchen?


You can grow at least 50% of your food with the space equivalent to an apartment building balcony. Imagine what you could do with an entire 200 sqft backyard with sunlight.


Just 2 5x10ft raised beds can produce enough food for you to eat well in the summer and have enough to save for the winter if done properly.


When people claim they don’t have enough space to grow food, but they have a balcony with decent sunlight, or a small backyard, it is just an excuse, not a real reason.


When I was in University and I lived in a basement apartment of a house, with a completely shaded window from trees and a shed, I really could not grow anything unless I got grow lights. Being in university I was not about to go and do that, my room was small enough already.


Had I gotten sunlight in my window I would have had at minimum an herb garden.


Of course, plants do limit their growth by the size of their container, so expect smaller plants and potentially smaller produce when it is being grown in a smaller environment. This has to do with root space, when in pots, roots grow in spirals, testing the container size if it is smaller than their variety is accustomed to.


Herbs take up very little space and are the best to grow if you only have a window sill worth of space to grow anything. If left alone, at the end of the growing season most herbs present lovely sweet flowers as well.


Limited space is very rarely an excuse for not growing your own food when potatoes can be grown in nothing but a bucket on your balcony.


Animal welfare

Like I said previously, if I can’t kill it, I don’t want to eat it. Veganism really opened my mind to seeing how it is possible to get every single needed nutrient, vitamin, mineral, that the body needs from plant based sources only.


If you need protein grow a walnut tree, beans, and/or sunflower seeds. If I need iron, I would grow spinach, kale, swiss chard, or lentils. If I wanted B vitamins I would grow chickpeas, sweet potatoes, and find a way to grow sea vegetables potentially. If I require Omegas I could grow hemp seeds, chis seeds, berries, or again go to walnuts.


There really is no need for me to take the life of another sentient being when everything that my body needs to be healthy can come from nature and not be harmed. Sustainability and respect.


Whether it is chickens, pigs, goats, or cows, I love them all, but the abuse and unnecessary breeding of them needs to stop, and I am one less person showing support for this industry.


If you are vegan, you don’t need me to tell you about the meat industry, if you aren’t aware and want to learn more there are 2 great documentaries that I suggest. Cowspiracy, and forks over knives.


Grocery Bills

I can most definitely say that it is cheaper to buy seeds or seedlings, potting soil, and containers than it is to buy fresh produce, especially at farmers markets. Everything is so darn expensive.


If you are on a fixed income or want to eat more without it hurting your pocket, why not try your hand at gardening in your one backyard and eating your work!


Going from an omnivorous diet to a vegetarian diet I cut my grocery bill costs so much that I had a little extra money from my budget to allocate elsewhere, but when I went vegan it cut back even more, cheese is expensive.


I can say without a doubt that being vegan alone is significantly cheaper than eating meat products. I mean, look at a block of tofu versus a chunk of steak, the price is drastically different.


You may spend $3 on a tomato seedling in May, then by August you have $50 worth of tomatoes just from putting a plant in the ground and tending to it. Rather than buying $50 worth of tomatoes, you only spent $3 plus a portion of any potting soil, the pot, and other gardening supplies you decide to splurge on.


Another way to save money on gardening supplies is to share with a neighbour or friend. This means both of you are saving lots of money and just have to coordinate your use of the tools, or better yet, garden together!


You save lots of money and get to reap the multitude of benefits gardening food has to offer.


Health

Last, but not least, is how gardening impacts your health in the most positive ways possible. Varying from physical to mental health being improved and tested.


Gardening is great for your health because it requires sitting, standing, bending. Kneeling, pushing, lifting, and shoveling, and I am sure there are other things we do in the garden that are exercise related.


All this exercise will benefit you through physically maintaining weight, boosting your mood and energy, and exposing you to the sun for some vitamin D.


Gardening is great for improving your mental health because it is a therapeutic activity from the regularity of planting and watering creating structure in your life, but also through the physical activity which boosts those feel good hormones, and vitamin D is effective in improving mood.


Gardening produces food that is healthy for you, and you will be excited to eat vegetables like never before because your hands grew that!


The satisfaction of watching something grow from your touch is rewarding in a very unique way and this too can be excellent for your self esteem and mood.


Many people think gardening is just about your physical health, and though, your physical health is definitely open for improvement through gardening, but your mental state is completely lifted and it is visible through your energy beyond just yourself.


Final Remarks

I currently am unable to have a garden because of the unpredictability and constant moving pace of my life. I am on the road all week with my fiance while he works throughout the south eastern United States, going from air B&B to hotel room, and most weekends trying to make it home to our little place. We spend lots of time in the truck travelling between places and I can't take a whole garden with me everywhere sadly.


I manifest about my life in the next 5 years of having a big garden in my backyard, tending to it with my now fiance, soon to be husband, and our family that we will create.


I get excited thinking how I will teach my kids about the pleasures of gardening and caring for things, teach them planning, show them stability and consistency. Allow them to have fun in the dirt like kids should.


Gardening and growing my own food is in my future, and I can’t wait to share that with my family, as it grows.


I did not grow up gardening or eating vegan, but that is where I want my life to go. I believe that gradually I will be able to begin planting and growing my garden.


Growing your own food has endless benefits, and I hope that after reading this post you have become open to starting your own garden as well, even if it is just on your balcony.


I really enjoy writing this content for you and I hope that you enjoy reading it and learning more about me every time.


Don’t forget to subscribe to my blog so you don’t miss any posts, also you can now like my posts, and reach out to me for any questions!


Happy Monday, and have a successful, productive, and safe week!


Recent Posts

See All

Common Terrestrial Restoration Species

Greetings readers, I have been slacking on making regular blog posts, but we all know life gets hectic before it calms down. Today, I will be writing about some common plants used in restoration proje

10 Ways Climate Change Affects the Planet

Happy Friday everyone, I hope everyone has some exciting plans for food to make or trails to hit up this weekend. I want to just lay out some ways the climate change is affecting the planet. Sometimes

10 Reasons you should grow nature and not a lawn

Here are 10 reasons that you have to stop putting your resources and money into something that does not benefit you in anyway. Boycott the uniform, non beneficial, unhealthy lawn. Happy Monday good pe

bottom of page